Practice makes…progress.

It’s been a long journey for me to realize that I wont ever be at the ‘perfect’ place with my body. Even if I reach my goals, I’m prompted to set new goals, therefore never reaching a place of 100% pure satisfaction.  I have started to realize (with my heart instead of my head) that God loves my regardless of if I’m exactly where I want to be physically or not.  I also realized that if I wanted to continue getting stronger (physically, and spiritually) that I needed to be more aware of the possibility of fitness becoming an idol for me.

I still have goals, but am much easier on myself when it comes to meeting them, and not meeting them.  My goals are less specific and nit-picky, and more general,like getting stronger!  I am seeing more and more non-scale victories when it comes to my fitness.  From lifting heavier weights for more sets, to the progress of flexibility and strength in my yoga poses, there has been progress.

Practice doesn’t make perfect, we are imperfect people.
However, practice does make progress……

PicMonkey Collage 1

PicMonkey Collage

PicMonkey Collage3

PicMonkey Collage4

PicMonkey Collage5

3 thoughts on “Practice makes…progress.

  1. Micaela says:

    3 months post partum and this is exactly what I needed to read today. Thank you. I am struggling with my perceived body image now. I hear from all sides that for 3 months post partum I look fine but in my mind I don’t. I am not reaching the goals I set for myself and I get upset with myself. I think setting general goals like you’ve done is where I need you begin versus setting goals based on numbers…And maybe I should trust my faith a little more….
    Thank you for sharing your real life moments.

    Like

    • carlyjoycurtis says:

      It’s so hard, especially right after having a baby, to be okay with our bodies. It took me until after my third pregnancy to not be so stressed out with how I was looking, and to feel blessed that my body was able to carry and nourish a little baby. God teaches us through everything. He made us in his image, and that should be enough. (It’s easier to know and understand that then believing it with our hearts)

      Like

      • Micaela says:

        You’re right. It should be enough. I need to remember that when I feel defeated by the mirror. On that note. Off to yoga.

        Like

Leave a Reply

