Reality of my post-baby run

Post baby #2, I really started to enjoy running. I ran small races, and completed my first Tough Mudder . Once I got pregnant with baby #3 I still continued to run, but as my pregnancy went on, my motivation to run slowly dwindled. I went from running 4-6 times a week, to maybe twice. My distance slowly got shorter, and my pace slowed.

After this last baby, I was eager to workout. I started walking and yoga as soon as I could. A few months postpartum, I started taking cycling at the gym, and loved it. (Well, have a love hate relationship with it….) I felt as though although I am not where I want to be, with toning and getting fit, that I was getting in shape. I went running with my husband this past week. He’s training for a triathlon, and since we have another tough mudder at the end of the month, I needed to get back to running for more distance.
It was not my best run  awful!
Since I got back into other aspects of working out, and eating healthy, I figured this would be the same way. I was completely wrong. From re-learning how to breathe, keep a pace, and the difference in running up hill vs. downhill, I forgot it all.
My body forgot it all.
I knew in my mind what I needed to do, but actually doing it after having not for the last 6+ months was tough.
After about 2 miles, my legs were still going strong, but I felt like my lungs were going to collapse.  Thankfully I have a patience husband, because I totally sucked the next two miles.
The second run however, got easier. I was more intentional about my breathing, and Jordan was helpful with working on my pace.
I was more challenging for me mentally than anything else.
I was completely frustrated.
I felt like a failure.
I could do this before, but now I cant.
When I was running constantly, the first mile would be the hardest. Once I got my pace and breathing figured out, it was mostly smooth sailing from there. Now, the first mile is the easiest, until my body realizes that I’ve been all over the place with my breathing, and usually at a too fast of pace, then it gets tough.
My goal is to get back to running 4-6 days a week. I know it will take time to get back to the pace that I previously had, and that it will take patience on my end.
I’m willing to put the work into it.
I’m willing to get back to where I was, and to have that passion for running again.

971096_10200387362624553_1852789332_n

Leave a Reply

