Struggles of a SAHM

Being a stay at home mom is hard. There are some days when I wake up and am already stressed, counting down the hours to nap times.  Trying to balance household chores with a very curious 5 year old (Carter), an almost potty trained, talkative almost-3-year old (Jesse), and a teething 4 month old(Zachary) gets overwhelming.

1

It’s sometimes my first reaction to get stressed about everything there is to do, and to get annoyed with all the arguing.  But then there are moments that melt my heart:

Snuggling Jesse when he’s sick.

Carter telling me “I’m so glad you’re here!”

Overhearing Carter and Jesse talking to each other about how God is in their hearts.

Zachary smiling at me when I walk into a room.

There are times of stress, being overwhelmed, frustrated, and incapable. You get through the morning, through the day, the week, the month, the year, and looking back you don’t remember the small, daily struggles and stresses of life.

Being a stay at home mom to three boys means my days are filled with dirt, legos, GI-joes, swords, scraped knees, and constant penis talk. I’ve decided I am going to (try to) embrace every moment of it with a happy, grace-filled heart, and make everlasting memories with my boys.

2

After all, I can’t believe I already have a 5 year old!
It seems like they were all just babies.

3

Leave a Reply

